The Township of Mullica is organized as a Township form of municipal government as set forth under N.J.S.A. 40A:63-1 et. seq.  The Township Committee, the governing body of the municipality consists of five members.   The members serve three-year staggered terms.  The terms of office begin on January 1st following the preceding general election.  Since Mullica Township is not divided into wards, the five members of the governing body serve at large.  

Every year during the first seven days of January, state law requires that the Township Committee convene a reorganization meeting.  The purpose of the meeting is to reorganize the government.  The Township Committee makes appointments of individuals to various boards, commissions, committees and positions for the purpose of conducting the business of the Township.  Other business matters also take place at the annual meeting. 

At the start of the annual Reorganization Meeting, the Municipal Clerk, as Secretary to the Township Committee, presides over the meeting until the governing body elects one of the members as Chairman of the Committee.  The Chairman of the Committee, known as the Mayor has the responsibility to preside at all meetings of the Township Committee.  The Committee also elects a Vice Chairman, known as the Deputy Mayor.  The Mayor has no additional authority by virtue of his/her designation as Mayor, except as may be provided by State law.    

At the annual Reorganization meeting, each Township Committee member is designated as a Director of one of five Departments.  The five Director Assignments are: Administration, Development & Housing, Public Safety, Public Works and Revenue & Finance.  The assignments are made by the Township Committee via Resolution. 

In accordance with the Municipal Land Use Law, the Mayor serves as the Class I member to the Planning Board and the Township Committee member serving as the Director of Development & Housing serves as the Class III Planning Board Member. 

The Township Committee’s responsibilities include, but are not limited to:

  • Adoption of ordinances (i.e. Township laws).
  • Approval of resolutions.
  • Preparation of calendar year operating budget.
  • Management of finances.
  • Establishing the municipal tax rate.
  • Appointing such officers as may be necessary to perform those duties required by law and ordinances.
  • Execute and perform all the executive responsibilities of the municipality not placed, by general law or statute in the Office of the Mayor. 




 Mayor Bruce Crowe – Director of Public Safety
(Term Expiring 12/31/2024)
Deputy Mayor Larry Riffle – Director of Public Works
(Term Expiring 12/31/2025)
 Committee Member DeAnna DeMarco – Director of Housing & Development
(Term Expiring 12/31/2025)
 Committee Member Ed Hagaman – Director of Revenue & Finance
(Unexpired Term Ending 12/31/2023)
 Committee Member Christopher Silva – Director of Administration
(Term Expiring 12/31/2023)


All Meetings are held at the Mullica Township Municipal Building 4528 S. White Horse Pike, Elwood, NJ 08217 at 7:00p.m.  

January 31, 2023
February 28, 2023
March 28, 2023
April 25, 2023
May 23, 2023
June 27, 2023
July 25, 2023
August 22, 2023
September 26, 2023
October 24, 2023
November 28, 2023
December 26, 2023

Township Committee generally meets on the fourth Tuesdays of the month at 7:00 pm.
Check the Meeting Notices link for any Changes